• Camp Bowie District

Cheers to 50 Years of UNTHSC!

The UNT Health Science Center is celebrating 50 years of high-quality health care right here in Fort Worth! Starting as a small osteopathic medical school, the UNTHSC has transformed itself into one of the nation’s premier graduate academic medical centers, with six schools that specialize in patient-centered education, research and health care. Let's take a look back at the past five decades to see how three Fort Worth physicians changed the Fort Worth community forever.


1966-Charter Secured by the State of Texas

Three osteopathic physicians, D.D. Beyer, George Luibel and Carl Everett, procure a charter from the State of Texas for the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.


1970-TCOM Opens

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine opens as a private college of osteopathic medicine with an entering class of 20 students.

1971-Bowling Alley Houses TCOM

With the help of 30 gallons of paint, The Taverner Alley is transformed into a medical school. Bowling lanes are converted into classrooms and laboratories. Although it is officially named the “Basic Science Building,” it is referred to students and faculty as “the bowling alley.”

1976-Permanent Buildings Constructed 

Ground is broken for the first permanent building on campus, what is now the Carl E. Everett Education and Administration Building.


1982 & 1986-Campus Grows

Medical Education Building 2, now the Research Building, was built in 1982 providing classrooms, basic science offices and laboratories. In 1986, Medical Education Building 3, now the Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library, opens, housing a state-of-the-art library, computing services and biomedical communications.


1990-DNA Lab Established 

The DNA Identity Laboratory is created with a special state appropriation to reduce a backlog of paternity cases pending in state courts.

1993-Redesignation and Expansion 

TCOM is officially redesignated and expanded by the State of Texas as the University of North Texas Health Science Center.

1999-University of North Texas System Founded 

Fort Worth’s UNTHSC joins UNT Denton and Dallas campuses to form the University of North Texas System.


2004-Center for BioHealth Opens 

Dedicated primarily to biotechnology and public health, the Center for BioHealth expanded on UNTHSC’s school of Public Health that was founded in 1999.


2013- Beginning of Pharmaceutical Education 

UNT System College of Pharmacy welcomes its first class.

2019-UNTHSC and TCU Welcome First Class 

The first class of Fort Worth’s own M.D. school is anticipated to bring more publicly and privately funded research, more educational resources and more intellectual capital to both campuses.

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon